Ray French Award

The Ray French Award is presented to the player of the match at the AB Sundecks 1895 Cup Final, which is held at Wembley on the same day as the Coral Challenge Cup Final. after a poll of Our League members in which the much-loved former dual code international and BBC commentator received more than 60% of the votes.

The 1895 Cup was introduced in 2019 to provide an additional and more realistic opportunity for non-Super League clubs to reach Wembley.

Unlike the Lance Todd Trophy, the long-established man of the match award for the Challenge Cup Final which is determined by votes from members of the Rugby League Writers and Broadcasters Association, the winner of the Ray French Award is chosen by the supporters via the Our League app.

Named after Ray French MBE, who was a Wembley winner with his hometown club St Helens against Wigan in 1966, and went on to commentate on 27 Challenge Cup Finals for the BBC, the majority at Wembley.

Winners List

Season Winner Club
2022 Edwin Ipape Leigh Centurions
2021 Craig Hall Featherstone Rovers
2020 *Covid Distrupted Season
2019 Anthony Thackeray Sheffield Eagle